Email Setup Center
  • Home »
  • Stop Synchronizing Folders

How to Stop Synchronizing Folders in Outlook 2010?  

The Microsoft Outlook 2010 application offers a feature to automatically synchronize the emails folder. This synchronization might take up to 1 hour to finish. This feature is helpful for the users who are managing multiple email accounts in the Microsoft Outlook 2010 email client. On the other hand, this feature is problematic in old systems and slow processors. As you launch Outlook 2010, it starts to sync the emails folder. Sometimes, it will freeze the Outlook 2010 email client, and you have to restart your computer. In such cases, you can stop the automatic synchronization process. Two different procedures to know how to stop synchronizing folders in Outlook 2010 email client are provided on this page.

how to stop synchronizing folders in Outlook 2010

Procedure 1 - Stopping the Outlook 2010 email client from syncing emails folder

  • On the desktop of your computer, find the Microsoft Outlook 2010 application and double-click it.
  • This will open the main interface of Outlook 2010.
  • Open emails folder, right-click each email, and choose the Properties option.
  • Remove the checkmark next to the ‘Automatically Generate Microsoft Exchange Views’ option.
  • It will stop the Microsoft Outlook 2010 email client from synchronizing the emails folder.

Procedure 2 - Disabling the Syncing feature in the Outlook 2010 email client

  • Launch the Microsoft Outlook 2010 email client, navigate to the Tools tab, and click the Options option.
  • Click the Mail Setup tab and then remove the checkmark beside the ‘Send Immediately when Connected’ option.
  • Click the Send/Receive option at the top of the screen and deselect the ‘Perform automatic send/receive when exiting’ option.
  • Click the OK option to update the settings.
  • Now, successfully know how to stop synchronizing folders in Outlook 2010.